120v AC -> 12v DC for Audio Components

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 120v AC -> 12v DC for Audio Components

I'm looking to build out a simple but clean 12v DC source for some audio components I have. I'm a novice when it comes to circuit design (breadboarding, arcade machine repair, etc.) so I'm looking for advice on how to best design this circuit.

In the end i would love to replace the wall wart SMPS with this linear circuit and build it out to support multiple outputs (5v, 9v, 12v, 16v). So I know I'll need to crank up the transformer to support these additional draws.

My questions to the community of experts: How does my first stab look to you?

I tried to setup the RC timings so the caps should discharge without impacting power while the unit is operational.

What are some improvements I can make to the overall design to ensure higher reliability, safety and quality of the power signal?

Thanks in advance!

Tags: gratis tonos para celular, ringtone downloads, descargar sonidos para celular, sms ringtones
    Last edited by jackadam; January 19th, 2017, 01:44 PM.

Originally posted by jackadam View Post
    I'm looking to build out a simple but clean 12v DC source for some audio components I have. I'm a novice when it comes to circuit design (breadboarding, arcade machine repair, etc.) so I'm looking for advice on how to best design this circuit.

In the end i would love to replace the wall wart SMPS with this linear circuit and build it out to support multiple outputs (5v, 9v, 12v, 16v). So I know I'll need to crank up the transformer to support these additional draws.

My questions to the community of experts: How does my first stab look to you?

I tried to setup the RC timings so the caps should discharge without impacting power while the unit is operational.

What are some improvements I can make to the overall design to ensure higher reliability, safety and quality of the power signal?

Thanks in advance!
    Dear Jackadam,